Skip to main content

Demons and Fallen Angels..

Demons and Fallen Angels

Fallen angels don't appear until the New Testament. In some books of the Old Testament, however, there is reference made to a God-appointed adversary called ha-satan. It is from an error in translation that the angel Satan is believed to have been created. Most biblical sholars accept this as the explanation for his emergence in I Chronicles 21 and II Samuel 24.

According to Revelation 12 of the New Testament, the rebel host accounts for one-third of Heaven's angels. They fell for nine days and it was estimated, in the 15th century, that there were 133,306,668 in all (the tabulation of Cardinal Bishop of Tusculum). The number of angels who remained in Heaven were said to total 266,613,336. Enoch I speaks of 200 fallen angels, but only names about twenty of them (allowing for variant spellings and duplications) including a listing of "chiefs of ten." In De Universo William Auvergne, a Parisian bishop from 1228 - 1249, it says that of the nine orders of angels a "tenth part fell," some from each order, and that even after their fall they retained their relative rank. Papal authority contends, however, that the angels who fell were all of the tenth order. This, of course, gives rise to the question "which of the nine orders is the tenth?"

It was Aquinas who first identified the fallen angels with demons. And it was the Christians of the late Middle Ages who declared that all heathen deities are demons. The infernal entities are organized as a kingdom and, according to most sources, His Majesty Satan sits upon the throne. However, other sources have named MastemaBeliarAzazel,BeelzebubSammaelEblis and others as being the High Ruler of Hell. The demons who hold positions of power under his rule have titles such as Duke, Marquise, Count, and Chancellor.

According to Levi 3 (Testament of the Twelve Patriarchs), the fallen angels are being held prisoner in the Second Heaven where, according to Enoch II, they are "supended, reserved for [and] awaiting the eternal judgment." Most Jewish literature blames man for the fall of the angels citing the Apocalypse of Baruch that states that it was "the physical nature of man which not only became a danger to his own soul, but resulted in the fall of the angels."

Yezidic Archangels

Fallen angels prayed to in Yezidic Devil Worship

1. Shams-ed-din ("sun of the faith")

2. Fakr-ed-din ("the poor one of the faith")

3. Nasr-ed-din ("help of faith")

4. Sij-ed-din ("power of mercy")

5. Sheikh Ism ("power of mercy")

6. Sheikh Bakra ("power of mercy")

7. Kadir-Rahman ("power of mercy")
Invocation to the Yezidic Archangels

"Sole Almighty Creator of heaven,

I invoke thee through the mediation of

(here, the names of the 7 listed above)

Thou didst create the sinners Adam, Jesus and Mary

Thou are the fountain of joy and beatitude.

Thou hast no face;

Thy stature, movements and substance are unknown

Thou hast neither feathers, wings, arms, voice, nor color.

The Seven Electors of Hell

The seven planetary spirits or angels of Hell, an idea that stems from the Akkadian's maskim. The names of these angels, according to the Testament of Solomon, are:

Aciel, servant to Raphael;

Anael, servant to Haniel;

Ariel, servant to Michael;

Barbiel, servant to Zaphiel;

Ganael, servant to Apadiel and Camael;

Marbuel, servant to Gabriel;

Mephistophile, servant to Zadkiel.

Some authorities classify them as infernal forces.

In Agrippa's list the names are the same except that Bludon and Apadiel replace Anael and Ganael, respectively. Another source names them as AdrielAmnodielAmudielAnnixielDirachiel,
EequielGeliel, and Tagriel.

The Seven Church Condemned Angels of 745 C.E. 

It was the Roman church council of that time who decided their fate.

Uriel - Raguel - Simiel (Semibel) - Tubuel - Tubuas - Saboac - Inias